University Library

A-Z Databases

eResources are paid for by the UCSC Libraries and are subject to copyright and licensing terms

Loading...

Popular Databases

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
New
A large body of maps, colour paintings, photographs and drawings depicting people, places, customs and events that will enliven any study of China.
Substantial papers of key individuals involved in the Chinese Maritime Customs service.
Records of major diplomatic missions to China ranging from the late 18th and early 19th century missions and in the 20th century.
Papers of missionaries active in all regions of China from Canton and Macao to Shanghai and Peking.
Extensive, fully searchable run of the Chinese Recorder, 1867-1941.
Recently opened files from the National Archives, UK relating to the thawing of relations with China in the 1970s.
Trial
National index to Chinese newspapers & periodicals - Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949)

For purchase consideration, provide your feedback to UCSC Librarians here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/HVT6RDQ.
Trial
CNKI Database covers academic publications published in China in the fields of education, engineering, finance, science, social and behavioral science with Chinese-English bilingual.

For purchase consideration, provide your feedback to UCSC Librarians here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/HVT6RDQ.
New
Colonial America is a five-module resource (released over five years) featuring all 1,450 files of the CO 5 class at The National Archives, UK. Consisting of the original correspondence between the Board of Trade and Secretaries of State and the English, later British, colonies in North America and the Caribbean.
Trial
Online primary source collection of Anglo-American legal and law-related materials, including many American law journals

For purchase consideration, provide your feedback to UCSC Librarians here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/HVT6RDQ.
New
Explores the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today.
New
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.
New
This resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering an extensive time period from 1490. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...