Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
A large body of maps, colour paintings, photographs and drawings depicting people, places, customs and events that will enliven any study of China.
Substantial papers of key individuals involved in the Chinese Maritime Customs service.
Records of major diplomatic missions to China ranging from the late 18th and early 19th century missions and in the 20th century.
Papers of missionaries active in all regions of China from Canton and Macao to Shanghai and Peking.
Extensive, fully searchable run of the Chinese Recorder, 1867-1941.
Recently opened files from the National Archives, UK relating to the thawing of relations with China in the 1970s.
Scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules in Social Sciences and Humanities, Each entry provides a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic. Includes chapter, book, website, archive, and data sets.
Colonial America is a five-module resource (released over five years) featuring all 1,450 files of the CO 5 class at The National Archives, UK. Consisting of the original correspondence between the Board of Trade and Secretaries of State and the English, later British, colonies in North America and the Caribbean.
Frontier Life brings together first hand documents and experiences of frontier settlers across the globe. This multi-archive collection captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. It ranges across the various colonial frontiers of North America before touching on the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia and New Zealand.
Please note that PDF download options are NOT available during trials.
HeinOnline’s Government, Politics & Law contains more than 80 million pages of content across 80,000 titles and 195,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR from inception, and much more!
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.
This resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world covering an extensive time period from 1490. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.