University Library

Transfer or Donate Collections to the University Archives

Do My Group's Records Belong in the University Archives?

 

The University Archives is interested in collecting material that relates to the following topics:

  • The history and development of UCSC student organizations 
  • The missions and policies of student organizations 
  • Significant programs, activities, and events of student organizations 
  • Positions and actions of student governments and councils 
  • Organized student activism 
  • Student involvement in service activities 

Examples of archival records

  • Constitutions and bylaws
  • Websites, newsletters, fliers, brochures, posters, and other publications
  • Annual reports
  • Correspondence that documents programs, activities, and events 
  • Meeting minutes and supporting documentation
  • Membership rosters 
  • Photographs, clippings, videos, press releases, and scrapbooks

Examples of non-archival records

  • Exact duplicate copies of anything
  • Records of routine matters, e.g., detailed financial records, purchase orders, receipts
  • Reference files or research material, including news clippings, publications, and form letters of departments or organizations other than your own
  • Rough drafts of publications, articles or reports (in most cases)
  • Blank forms, letterhead, or other stationery
  • Plaques or trophies

How do I transfer records to the University Archives?

 

As a leader of a student organization, you might be in possession of materials that have a place in the University Archives as a record of your group's activities on campus. Contact the University Archivist to schedule an appointment to review your records.  In your e-mail, please describe the scope of the records, which organization produced them, and the activities they document.  We would also appreciate a copy of any inventories or indexes you have made of the records.  Archives staff will then work with you to identify materials suitable for the archives and can assist with the physical transfer of the records.

Tips for Preserving Your Group’s History

 

  1. Document the activities of your group: keep minutes of meetings, save copies of publications and flyers.

  2. Label your materials/folders with full names, dates, and descriptions of events or circumstances.

  3. Keep your records together in one central place.

  4. Develop a straightforward filing system that works for you.

  5. Store your records away from dampness, dust, excessive heat, and sun.

  6. Develop a routine of transferring inactive records to the University Archives at the end of the semester, year, or leader's term of office.

  7. Consider the fate of your non-paper documents. Electronic records can pose software and hardware access problems. Save compact discs, memorabilia, photographs, posters, and tapes, as well as traditional paper documents. Contact an Archivist for help an advice with maintaining and transferring electronic files.

  8. WHEN IN DOUBT, DON'T THROW IT OUT!

Contact the University Archives

Teresa Mora's picture
Teresa Mora
Contact:
University Library
831-459-4425